Display audio player

News | Residencies


Call for Proposals: Avatar-MUTEK Production Residency | Avatar and MUTEK are once again joining forces to propose the Avatar-MUTEK Production and Presentation Residency. This call for proposals is addressed to artists of all origins, residing in Canada. This residency includes the presentation of the finished work during the 22nd edition of the MUTEK festival, which will take place from August 24 to 29 in Montreal.



It’s a go! This year Avatar will be awarding the 2nd prize for radio creation in the 60 Second Radio Competition. > Press release and information on the call for entries.



The LA MAJORITÉ project was led by Le Bureau de l'APARemember, it was carried out as part of a creative residency in Avatar in December 2020. We are pleased to announce that the title piece is now available for listening on Avatar’s Band camp platform, while the pre-sale of the project’s audio cassette I son going. > listen


Haunted Telegraph

Véronique Béland

Generative installation
16 décembre 2020 au 7 mars 2021



DIFFUSION ◉ ► The radiophonic work, A Family of Thoughts, by artists Py & Verde, on the digital platform of France Culture



Mathieu M. Bouchard, recipient of the Avatar 2020 Award - Graduating from Université Laval's Baccalauréat en arts visuels et médiatiques - dates to come.

Martin April, recipient of the Master's Scholarship in Artist-Run Centres 2020. In collaboration with the School of Art of Université Laval. Two-year residency, 2020-2022.

Philip Gagnon, recipient of the 2019 Master's Award in Artist-Run Centres. In collaboration with the École d'art de l'Université Laval. Two-year residency (September 2019 to June 2021).

School activities

Avatar proposes to introduce children to audio and electronic art. The goal is to make them aware of the sounds of their environment, to refine the quality of their listening while developing their ingenuity. The workshops were designed for each age group so that they are related to the concepts learned in class.

Sound and electronic art workshops - Avatar

French only


Avatar is dedicated to the research, creation, circulation and dissemination of audio and electronic artworks and artists. To support artistic practice, Avatar produces projects, invites artists, reflects on practices, and fosters new collaborations via a local and international network.

Located in the heart of Québec City, Avatar offers a venue for interactions and initiatives, explores new artistic territories, and facilitates access to equipment and specialized skills.

In North America, Avatar is a pioneer in the research on audio and electronic arts.

At Avatar, sound creation covers a broad field of activities, ranging from the creation of listening devices, and the invention of musical instruments, to audio installation, including performance, radio art, and sound sculpture. Audio art crosses over the fields of music, visual arts, and poetry, opening itself to hybrid forms of audible performance, acoustic excavations and environments. Avatar also takes part in the development of the programming of custom-made software and electronic interfaces, as well as interactive and kinetic installation systems, and telematic performances.

Avatar is a member of the Méduse cooperative, the RCAAQ ( Regroupement des centres d'artistes autogérés du Québec), the CQAM (Conseil québécois des arts médiatiques), the RAIQ (Regroupement des arts interdisciplinaires du Québec) and the IMAA (Independent Media Arts Alliance).


Alexandre St-Onge - Chair

Alexandre Bérubé - Vice-Chair

Nathalie Bachand - Secretary and treasurer

Catherine Bélanger - Administrator

Philip Gagnon - Administrator

Frédérique Laliberté - Administrator

Geneviève Provencher-St-Cyr - Administrator

Honorary Members

Pierre-André Arcand - Gilles Arteau - Georges Azzaria - Nathalie Breush - Eva De Groot - Jean Dubois - Chantal Dumas - Mario Gauthier - Heidi Grundmann - Suzanne Jaschko - Jérôme Joy - Christof Migone - Émile Morin - Louis Ouellet - John Oswald - Hélène Prévost - James Partaik - Philippe Pasquier - Jocelyn Robert - Michael Snow

Active Members

Catherine Béchard - Catherine Bélanger - Alexandre Berthier - Alexandre Bérubé - Patrice Coulombe - Julie Faubert - Pierre-Olivier Frechet-Martin - Caroline Gagné - Sabin Hudon - Sarah L'Hérault - Diane Landry - Myriam Lambert - Nathalie LeBlanc - Mériol Lehmann - Frédérique Laliberté - Émile Morin - Simon Paradis-Dionne - Nataliya Petkova - Ariane Plante - Jocelyn Robert - Josiane Roberge - Alexandre St-Onge - Simon Elmaleh - Nady Larchet - Nathalie Bachand - Pascale Leblanc Lavigne - Philippe Lauzier